RSS

Advent – Peace – They Were Filled With Fear

14 Dec

Luke 2:8-9 (ESV)

And in the same region there were shepherds out in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night.  And an angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord appeared to them and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were filled with fear.


Just short thoughts today.

Last night, when I was sleeping in my son’s room to make sure he wasn’t coughing up a lung, I was worried.  My son had never been sick before, and his coughing sounded like that of a crusty old sailor.  In the dark of the night, I lay there with my eyes closed – praying, meditating, reflecting.

Out of the darkness, a hand clasped my arm.  Yanked from the deepness of my thoughts, I blearily opened my eyes to discern what was going on. 

It was my wife, who, in spy-like form, had crept to the bed.  She thought I was looking at her.

I can sympathize with the shepherds.  Here they were, keeping watch over their flocks by night.  And then boom – out of nowhere, a startling display of the glory of God is suddenly shining around them.  And I don’t think that it was just because they were startled.  They were stunned at the radiance of God’s glory.

However, as we’ll see soon, God wasn’t trying to make them afraid; he was coming to announce peace.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 14, 2008 in advent, advent, family worship

 

Leave a Reply

 
