RSS

Mary, Do You Know the Words in Spanish?

08 Dec

Me, singing “María Sabes Tú”

Every once in a while, I’m asked to sing at church here.  Once or twice, I have sung in English with the words translated and shown on the overhead.  But that always seems weird, since about 5% of the congregation understand English.  So, when I’m asked to sing a specific song or if I have one I want to sing, I always try to find the Spanish equivalent, which has not always been easy.

So when I was asked to sing “Mary, Did You Know?” I was bound and determined to find it in Spanish.  I googled and googled but to no avail.  I couldn’t find the “letra” to the song.  So, I searched youtube and found someone singing it and transcribed it.

Because of the distant chance that you too may someday need to sing “Mary, Did You Know?” in Spanish, here are the lyrics.

María, Sabes Tú

¿María sabes tú que tu pequeño caminará sobre el agua?

¿María sabes tú que tu pequeño salvará a nuestros hijos?

¿Sabes tú que tu pequeño ha venido a salvarte.

Este hijo que has cargado algún día te librará.

¿María sabes tú que tu pequeño dará vista al ciego?

¿María sabes tú que tu pequeño calmará la tempestad?

¿Sabes tú que tu pequeño con angeles ha caminado.

Cuando besas a tu niño, besas el rostro de Dios.

El ciego verá.

El sordo oirá.

El muerto revivirá.

El cojo saltará. *

El mudo hablará

Alabanzas al Rey.

¿María sabes tú que tu pequeño es Dios de la creación?

¿María sabes tú que tu pequeño reinará a las naciones?

¿Sabes tú que tu pequeño es el cordero de Dios?

El niño que sostienes es el gran YO SOY.

*I couldn’t understand for the life of me what in the world the word they were singing here.  I put “saltará,” because I know that they are talking about jumping.  But, can’t understand the word and there is one extra syllable you have to sneak in.

And here is the Youtube version.

¿María, Sabes Tú?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 8, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment